The Oath (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
42 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A rollercoaster ride
mightythor4721 October 2018
The Oath is an example of a relatively new genre that I suppose we can expect to see more of: the political horror movie. The thumbnail describes it cheerfully as "a man struggles to keep his politically divided family from falling apart over the Thanksgiving holiday." Nuh uh. It's actually a plausible scenario for a fascist takeover in America. Appropriately, it sneaks up on you. It starts out as a light comedy -- a good excuse to munch through a bucket of popcorn -- then seems to veer off course, becoming uncomfortably raw. And then things head south. Predictably some critics have called it out for inconsistency of tone -- missing the point. Billy Magnusson steals the show with a late appearance as an agent for the Citizens Protection Unit.
44 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Topical amd bloody dark humor. After all, it's Thanksgiving dinner.
jdesando21 October 2018
Some films are not easily classified: Ike Barinholtz's The Oath is just such a puzzle. The prospect of seeing a comedic take on Thanksgiving with current liberal and conservative divisions in many families was tantalizing.

However, The Oath turns into a black comedy at best and bloody Straw Dogs home invasion at worst. Chris (Ike Barinholtz), a liberal, tries to understand why anyone would sign a government loyalty oath (Think Trump's National Loyalty Day, May 1) today in democratic USA. His brother, Pat (Jon Barinholtz) and most of his family, has signed, leading to Chris trying to avoid confrontations with little luck.

With two Citizens Protection Unit operatives arriving unannounced, the contentious Thanksgiving dinner turns into a bloody confrontation between these enforcers of the oath and the growingly isolated, liberal Chris.

For sure there are laughs at the extreme ends of the political spectrum, both sides evidencing ignorance and moved more by the movements themselves rather than deep-seated beliefs. Yet both sides are capable of cruelty and violence, and even Chris and his loving wife, Kai (Tiffany Haddish) are capable of turning on each other.

The animosities are made real by today's polarized politics, so that the absurdist humor can resonate in all its hyperbole. Although the ending should satisfy both sides, and for sure the liberals, nonetheless all sides should be able to fear the extremes to which the citizenry can go and embrace a humanism that doesn't force anyone to turn on family.

After all, it is Thanksgiving, and I feel confident your family will be kind and loving. It's the others you have to worry about.

This dark drama has touches of humor, but also, it's Straw Dogs for political extremists. The Oath is a surprisingly acidic commentary on our partisan culture today.
32 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A movie about thanksgiving family mess .. So all of these reviewers saying this is an anti-Trump propaganda, How did you figure that out ?
Aktham_Tashtush29 December 2018
So here's an honest review ,, no politics , just the movie ,, which what the users need to read ,, if you wanna read politics go to the pages of FOX or CNN and fight there ..

The movie plot is genuine ,,, extreme and bold yet enjoyable .. for the thrill and drama the genre was satisfying ,, as for the comedy ,, it wasn't as i hoped for , but there were actually few funny enjoyable moments, but not laughable .. The screenplay is by Ike Barinholtz which is also the director and the lead ,, and i like the guy ,, he was hilarious in The Mindy Project, presenting that innocent spontaneous comedy , which sadly was lacking in here ,, but i think he's all grown up now "as an entertainer" so . the movie showed a bit of that intense on-edge comedy, but still wasn't "hilarious".

Anyway , as for the cast ,, beside Ike ,, i like Tiffany Haddish ,, this year is her year with 4 blockbuster movies and a series with Tracy Morgan ,, so she's doing good ,, the whole cast were good overall... John Cho was also funny is his few lines :D

Final thought,, These 1 star reviewers saying this is an anti trump propaganda ,, and trump wasn't even once mentioned, in fact they said in the end "the president house in North Carolina", so How did these reviewers know its about trump !! or is it because they believe that the only one would do such thing is trump ?! I don't know ;) This is a movie about a family thanksgiving mess... full-stop.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funny & Thought Provoking
stevendbeard22 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "The Oath", starring Ike Barinholtz-Blockers, Suicide Squad; Tiffany Haddish-Night School, Girls Trip; John Cho-Searching, Identity Thief and Nora Dunn-Tag, Pineapple Express. Some people will like this movie and some will not. It's a comedy but with political undertones and whether you like it or not will probably depend on how you feel about the present administration. The plot is as follows; The President of the US of A has said that he has an 'Oath' that he wants every American citizen to sign. It states that they must pledge allegiance to the President-Not the country, but to him personally. He says it is entirely voluntary-but bad things seem to happen to people that don't sign it. The deadline for signing-and when it becomes official-is on the day after Thanksgiving, aka, Black Friday. Ike and his wife Tiffany are against it and think it is utterly ridiculous. Nora plays Ike's mother, and when she and the rest of the family come for Thanksgiving dinner, well, let's just say that things get heated when they do not all agree on the oath. FYI:Ike's real life brother plays his brother in the movie. John plays one of the enforcement agents from the Citizens Protection Unit that goes door to door, checking on people that do not sign the oath-such as Ike & Tiffany. Basically, it's an extreme view of today's political climate. It's rated "R" for language, violence and drug use and has a running time of 1 hour & 33 minutes. I thought it was funny and thought provoking and I would buy it on DVD.
35 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Funny but not sure where the plot was headed ?
Prophetik6 January 2019
Seemed like a waste of a movie it didn't go anywhere really and then it just ended, it was funny but also went into a severe decline that made no sense the only thing funny was the fact they're really people out their who let the news and politics control their lifes...other then that not the best
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well i enjoyed it & I'm not American
alfieosullivan30 December 2018
I'm assuming all the hate for this movie is from Trump supporters, even though it has nothing to do him & nor is he even mentioned in the movie. I enjoyed it, a) because it's the kind of thing that I wouldn't be surprised happening in the US & b) its very reminiscent of what I've directly seen happen to families & friends over Brexit (Well apart from the CPU part of the movie) Ok the acting is pretty naff in spots but overall, it's a good film & it keeps you on edge watching it unfold.
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Much Better Than The Current IMDB Rating Suggests - The Easily Offended Have Been Downgrading
LouieInLove30 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This film is much better than the current IMDB rating suggests. The easily offended (aka the stupid) have been purposefully downgrading with 1 & 2 stars.

The story pivots on a stereotypical American white male egomaniac liberal character; who displays the annoying traits which accompany that kind of personality - basically he is overbearing & likes the sound of his own voice.

A worrying political situation is unfolding in the USA which calls for Americans to sign an 'Oath' - the signing of which is being insidiously enforced by a new government agency. All of this is obviously in the face of traditional American values (so you'd think this film would appeal to all Americans).

Our male lead is warning his family about the unfolding situation, but, because of his stereotypical overbearing sanctimonious liberal ways, his family have developed a deaf-ear to his harpings; until it's too late - or is it?

The film flows well, is accessible & well acted.

Don't jump to conclusions!
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
ddoouubblleemm9 January 2019
Wow, I'm not American so maybe that's why I didn't care for this movie at all but I thought it was terrible. So so bad. So political. Not funny. Reminded me of Hangover 3, what kind of movie was this?! Certainly not a comedy.

I'm sure the only people who like this are those that have similar political beliefs to the movies. Otherwise, DREADFUL.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful movie, waste of time and energy.
channyrani28 December 2018
Do not waste your time watching this movie - takes far too long to get into, poor humour and lack of storyline. The acting is poor and you can't call it a comedy - there's no substance to it at all.

Absolute waste of time.
25 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
BEYOND terrible
jcocktoasten-9855528 December 2018
This I thought started out as a comedy eve though not a second was funny and descended into liberal paranoid chaos. I want the last 1:45 minutes of my life back.
28 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring
zathan-3284828 December 2018
Well for this movie you absolutely have to live in the us. I had to turn it off because it was just way to boring.. For us outsiders, american politics seems like you have two options.. pest or colera... This movie is both
18 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Do We Really Need a Crude Expletive in Nearly Every Sentence?
larrys311 January 2019
A family getting together for Thanksgiving, as well as the country, are torn apart by the Federal Government asking its citizens to sign what's called "The Oath". People will need to pledge their loyalty or they may be visited by the CPU (Citizens' Protection Unit) and some citizens may even be whisked away to an unknown location.

Most of the humor here, as I see it, fell very flat or was quite mean-spirited, and do we really need a crude expletive in nearly every sentence. The last half of the movie had some suspense and I wanted to know how this would all play out.

All in all, however, although the film had its moments it just never really got its act together. But I would say, as I write this, as we possibly near the declaration of a national emergency, that we can't out-of-hand dismiss the warnings that the film trumpets.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Typical Trump idiots assuming the worst
natcalgary2 January 2019
Tons of reviewers stating this is an anti-trump movie. Political morons. they can't just enjoy a movie, they have to try to use it for political divide between each other. This has nothing to do with Trump and is really not left or right leaning. It is a black comedy that morphs into something I cant even explain at the end. It was deff. confusing, but with many slow parts in the first half, the change of story line in the last half deff, kept me interested.

Nothing special... 5.2
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sign oath to not watch this movie
codenavigator28 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Even trailer for this movie couldn't get higher score than 5. This one is absolutely waste of your time. Neither it got decent with humor, nor politics or some drama wannabe. They gather for the Thanksgivings, catch up, start a nonsense fight, the end. All of that in the worst possible screenplay you could imagine.
17 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad movie based on a Pledge to Hitler.
jpc-196 January 2019
If you know any history, the story is obviously taken from when Nazi Germany made a law that citizens had to made a personal pledge to Adolf Hitler. Some people think this is American Values, realy. This is very possible in any country including the US. People do not act rationally and try to oblige the govt in power to maintain their safety in similar situations or stay passive in hard times to stay off the radar. People confuse these references to the politics thats going on whether similar or not.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not Funny and Quite Unnerving
narevalo343714 January 2019
I borrowed this from the library. The cover shows reviews that sate how 'hilarious' it is. It's not hilarious, it's not even funny. It's quite unnerving. The movie has no point, and there is way to much vulgar language.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Pretty Crumby!
thospa14 January 2019
This movie was an hour too long. I wouldnt consider this a comedy, because I didn't even crack a smile. Decent cast, dumb script, and several scenes were dragged out too long. And very repetitive dialogue throughout the entire movie. Overall, pretty crumby!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't bother
rdj_ravi13 January 2019
The film starts off ok however the plot quickly becomes a mess and is very unrealistic in many ways. Not worth watching....
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Low-Budget Bore
skitchell13 January 2019
They could have done so much with this concept, but they just didn't. So low budget and it showed. Great actors, great concept, still so boring.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The plot seemed legitimate..
independentlyinsane2 January 2019
Another fantasy movie drumming up more political discourse in an already divided America. You can pretty much guess the how the movie goes. A "woke" Ike Barniholtz and his ethnic wife Tiffany Haddish show up to what obviously has to be small minded and moronic family members having the holidays because who else would like Trump according to anyone in LA or New York. Its another movie or show that could have promoted open minds like Roseanne's show before she was canned but its obviously just another attempt to give people more reasons to bypass civil discourse. For a far leftist this is going to be a great movie where it mimics real life where everyone who thinks ideologically different than you is an imbecile. If you don't fall into the far left watch literally ANYTHING else and you will have a better entertainment experience.

I've seen Ike on Howard Stern talking politics which I give him a pass for but to make a movie based solely on his politics, as a MAD TV fan, this was disappointing.
5 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Should have stopped 10inutes in!
cjppmi1 January 2019
Terrible movie. The premise is terrible the story line is terrible. Really upsets me out that I will not get this 90 minutes back.
5 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's an amusing movie, give it a chance
rsofianos5 January 2019
Entertaining because any time with the family is hard work, especially with strained relationship and then add politics (fictional political scenario) into the mix. The political aspect is a little funny & scary as it's something that could one day be implemented, but that's what made it relatable... our fear of 'The Oath'.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Didn't work for me
Gordon-1131 December 2018
This film tells the story of a family whose thanksgiving dinner is tainted by a heated debate, and subsequently an unwelcomed visit.

I hoped for the film to be funny, but unfortunately it was not funny. It was rather violent for a comedy, which spoils the mood for starters. Then, there was just too much arguing and bickering for it to be fun. The tone of the film was way too serious and too dark to be a comedy. I was hoping for a "Blockers" type of comedy, but my expectations were wrong.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you HATE the president
djfrost-467868 January 2019
If you HATE the president, this movie is for you. If you like and honor him. This movie is total garage. As an American I don't have to watch this garage again. As a American I don't have to watch any movie made by this person's other movies again. As a American I won't watch these actors in other movies too. A liberal movie giving hope to other liberals hope that TRUMP will step down. Hahahahahahaha
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not Funny
the_nephilim7130 December 2018
I went into this film thinking I would love it since I love both Ike Barinholtz and Ms. Haddish but the movie wasn't at all funny. The story was outlandish but in an unfunny way. What an enormous waste of talent. Please Ike, don't write and/or direct any more movies!
6 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed